Contrast Does Not Just Apply to Instagram Filters

Growing up my parents always taught me that if I fell, I had to get back up and try again. Sure, they would always help me if needed and I tried a few times first, but they raised me to be independent and to not rely on other people to do things for me, and I because of this I am the person I am today. I just wish that some other people would understand this concept as well.

The other week when I was out having a late night food excursion with some friends, I was getting out of the car and getting into my walker when someone came up to me and asked me if I needed my walker closer to me. Now, from where I was compared to where the walker was at the back of the car, it was no more than a few feet at most. They then proceeded to push my walker closer after I told them no that I had got it.

Now, I know this person meant well and I am not mad at them in the least for having a good heart and for wanting to help. But I will say that after some time had passed and I got to thinking about it, I got sad that the stigma that disabled people cannot do anything for themselves is still rampant today.

Have I wanted to give up after only barely trying to accomplish something? Of course, I am sure everyone has disabled or not. I have also noticed that while some things may look easy to one person, it could be a difficult feat for someone else. This was the case with me and a step stool.

I am pretty short so it is nothing new when I find myself reaching up on my tiptoes to reach something in a cupboard. Usually when I set my mind to something I will do anything and everything to get the task completed. I decided that I would take step stool and try to reach up and grab a plate that I wanted to get. This ended up being quite a task. Because of my lack of balance, this was very difficult for me. As many times as I tried to reach up and grab the plate, I could not get my balance long enough without holding onto the step stool because I would feel like I would fall off if I did not hold onto the step stool. After a while, my roommate ended up having to help me.

While yes, I did get frustrated with myself that I could not get something as simple as a plate or use something as little as a step stool, I had to learn that it is okay in the end. The important thing is that I did try. Just because I was not able to get the plate, or use the step stool this time, that does not mean I will not be able to accomplish this task in the future. I refuse to give up. I guess the quote, “fall down seven times, stand up eight” is true, you just have to work at it.

One thought on “Contrast Does Not Just Apply to Instagram Filters

Leave a Reply

