The Road to a Healthy Life

My best friend Heather Schultz just uploaded a video today talking about her fitness routine and as I was watching the video I thought about what I do to stay healthy and fit and what I can do better.

I have never really been one of those people that exercised on a regular basis. Growing up my parents, doctors, and physical therapists would always get on my case about how much I did NOT exercise and how much more I should. I can basically chalk it up to the fact that I was just plain lazy and the fact that I did not like how much it hurt to stretch. But as the years have gone by I have noticed how important it is for me to exercise because it will ultimately help my muscles.

Over the past six months or so I have found myself exercising and stretching more. I tend to exercise with Heather in the mornings and kick some ass by listening to Billy Blanks and doing Tai Bo. I have found though that while the cardio is always good, the stretching is the most important for me, especially the leg lifts (which believe me can be a pain in the ass, but no pain no gain right?)

Eating right is also an important factor. I will admit that I have eaten out a lot in the past and most of the time it has been crap food that is not good for me. But over the last few months I have been more cautious about what I eat. I will make sandwiches, have some Lean Cuisine, or make a salad with some kale, tomatoes and carrots. I have also been a huge Pepsi drinker and I have cut back on my soda intake and substituted it for carbonated flavored waters. The only time that I will have a soda most of the time is when we do go out to eat, and even then I make sure that I have something more on the healthier side to eat.

So, now, I am going to turn the tables onto you and ask you what you do to stay healthy. Do you eat well? Do cardio? Run? I would love to hear your stories. Please leave them below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

